The Monahon Fund

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Rick and Duffy

When Rick and Duffy Monahon died in early 2013, we lost two generous, dynamic leaders who made a tremendous impact on the communities and people of New Hampshire. Friends and colleagues of preservationists Rick and Duffy Monahon came together to create a new fund that honors and advances the Monahons’ work and provides this resource. In the fall of 2014 New Hampshire Preservation Alliance announced the availability of new seed grants to help community preservation projects, and the first grant was made the next year to the Mill Hollow Heritage Association to help a historic mill in East Alstead. 


Rick and Duffy had a lasting influence on projects and people across the state, said Jennifer Goodman, executive director of the Preservation Allinace. They helped shape the preservation movement in New Hampshire with signature projects like Historic Harrisville, highly engaged service on statewide and local boards, and award-winning projects like the rehabilitations of the Gregg Free Library in Wilton, the Newbury Meetinghouse and Temple’s Town Hall. 


The Fund has nearly reached its initial goal of $100,000. “There are local projects all across the state that need this sort of funding to move forward effectively,” said Jennifer Goodman, executive director of the Preservation Alliance.


The small planning grants may be used for hiring a consultant to conduct a building assessment, to develop a feasibility study or to help with a group’s fundraising plans. An advisory committee will assist the Preservation Alliance in selecting projects and include representatives from the American Institute of Architects New Hampshire Chapter and the New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources.   Rick and Duffy both served on the Preservation Alliance’s Board of Directors at various times since its inception and supported its activities in many ways.


The Rick and Duffy Monahon Fund also launched a new Historic Preservation for the Future Fund at the N.H. Charitable Foundation. This Fund is designed to accept future gifts to honor others and meet changing preservation needs and opportunities over time.


The Fund's purpose:

  • to provide lasting recognition of Rick and Duffy Monahon;
  • to celebrate their impact on New Hampshire's people and communities through their architecture, preservation, and planning efforts;
  • and to inspire the kind of work necessary to save, revive, and steward the special places about which they were so passionate

To make a contribution to the Rick & Duffy Monahon Fund, please click here.

For information on applying for a grant, please click here.


Thank you to the following donors for contributing to the Rick & Duffy Monahon Fund (this list is updated periodically):

AIA New Hampshire, Clinton Sheerr Award for Excellence Fund 

Peter and Susan Allen

Laurie and Ken Appel

Ms. Andi Axman and Mr. Mark Goldstein

Jeannette and Lee Baker

Carolyn and Peter Baldwin

Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Bastedo

Brad Bates - Dublin School

Claire and Chris Bean

Thomas and Patricia Belt

Douglas Bencks

Molly and Jeff Bolster 

Anne Booth and Robert Hauser

Sue and Steve Booth 

Michael and Deborah Bruss 

Paul and Bevan Buffum 

Mr. and Mrs. Walter Burgin

Colin and Paula Cabot

H. Meade Cadot

Mr. and Mrs. R. Wells Chandler

Martha Fuller Clark

Hal and Margot Close

John and Patricia Colony

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Cornog 

Regina W. Daly

Mr. and Mrs. Francis De Marneffe

David Drasba, AIA

Nancy and Richard Dutton

Hugh and Gay Eaton 

Ms. Barbara Feibelman

Lew Feldstein

Beth and Mark Fernald 

Richard R. and Judith C. Fernald

Ronald Lee Fleming

Joslin Kimball Frank

James and Donna-Belle Garvin

Marny Gannett

Mary Teal Garland

Jeff and Penny Gilbert

Jennifer Goodman 

Rachel Greene-Lowell 

Judson & Sally Hale, Sr.

William B. Hart and Constance Eaton

Robert Hauser and Anne Booth

Elizabeth Durfee Hengen 

Katherine Hoffman 

Mr. and Mrs. Clay Hollister

Robin Hulbert and Shelley Goguen Hulbert 

Carolyn Isaak 

Harold W. Janeway 

Margo Jones 

JSA Trust 

Debby & Karl Kaiser

Bruce and Jane Keough

Ms. Katherine La Plante

Mr. and Mrs. William W. Landis

Bruce and Sally Larsen 

Laurenitis/Bonacci Family 

Lavallee | Brensinger Architects

Mr. and Mrs. W. David Malcolm 

Sharon and Bradford Malt 

Howard Mansfield and Sy Montgomery 

Mr. and Mrs. Malcolm McNaught

Charlie MacVeagh 

Dr. and Mrs. Francis de Marneffe 

John and Nancy Merkle 

Patricia S. Meyers 

Milestone Engineering & Construction, Inc.

John F. Miller 

Ken and Linda Miller 

Margo Miller

Paul Mirski 

Lynne Emerson Monroe 

Wilbur Monroe 

William Morgan 

Elizabeth and Worthen Muzzey

John and Maude Odgers 

National Council Of Architectural Registration Boards, New England Region 

Ms. Margaret Nighswander 

Conrad Paulus 

Anne Pelletier 

R. Wendell Phillips AIA 

Susan Phillips-Hungerford 

Thomas and Babs Putnam 

Mr. and Mrs. William Raymond

David and Ann Repak

Jim and Carolyn Russell

Samyn-D'Elia Architects, P.A. 

Thomas Sappington, Jr. 

Richard Scaramelli and Joan Kibbe 

Carl Schmidt 

Bill and Jill Schoonmaker

Daniel V. Scully Architects

Sheldon Pennoyer Architects 

James R. Shelton and Sharon Wason  

Patricia C. Sherman FAIA 

Stanley Family Fund of the Community Foundation of New Jersey 

Mr. Robert B. Stephenson 

Posy Bass and Henry Taves 

Jeffrey Taylor 

Terra Nova Trust of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation 

Liz Thomas 

Town of Washington 

Hunter and Lisa Ulf

May L. Vaughan

Liz and Geoff Verney

The Gilbert Verney Foundation

Village Travel, Inc.

William and Emily McNaught

Chris Anderson and Anna Von Mertens

Francie and Carl Von Mertens 

David H. Watters

Alan and Lulu Weathers

Bob and Mary Lou Weathers 

David Weir

Thomas and Beverly Westheimer

Sage Wheeler and Richard Pendleton

Wilder Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Linda Willett

Christopher and Ann Williams 

Dr. and Mrs. Robert Wilson

Ben and Lucy Wilson